Pasta Puttanesca with a Twist (sort of)

20 Apr

I have been on an anchovy paste kick ever since I tried it out in Spanish Style Toasted Pasta. It adds so much flavor and you would never know there is a “fishy” ingredient in the dish. The paste melts and adds depth instead of fishy taste/smell. A friend made this recipe few weeks ago, and I decided to recreate it on my own. Mine didn’t quite end up like hers, but I am still very happy with it (which is the reason why I want to write it down, so I don’t forget what I did). In case you are interested, here’s the original recipe she used (I found it AFTER I experimented with my own recipe 3 times… sigh).

I took this recipe as my base, but changed a lot of the method and proportions. Here’s what I did:

puttanescaIngredients
8 ounces angel hair (broken into 1-2 inch pieces)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup pitted chopped Spanish or Greek olives
2 tablespoons capers
1 teaspoon anchovy paste
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon parsley flakes
1 (14-ounce) can diced tomatoes
2 tbsp red wine
about 1 cup chicken broth
0.5 teaspoon sugar

Directions
Heat up 1 tbsp olive oil in a large pan and toast the pasta on medium-high heat until golden brown (I have not been able to toast the pasta completely evenly, but as long as at least half of it is the color of peanut butter, it should be ok). Once the pasta is toasted enough, add about 0.5-1 cup chicken broth and let the pasta cook according to the instructions on the package (you have to keep an eye on the pasta – if the chicken broth evaporates, keep adding more and mixing the pasta to make sure it cooks evenly. I would recommend to avoid putting in too much chicken broth, since it would make the dish too soupy).

While the pasta is cooking, heat the oil in a large skillet over a medium flame. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the parsley, olives, capers, anchovy paste, oregano and parsley flakes, and saute for 2 minutes more. Add the tomatoes, wine, sugar and simmer for about 5 minutes.

When the pasta and sauce are done, toss together to combine. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

