Simple, Quick, and Healthy Dinner

8 Jan

flounder  This dinner is super yummy and healthy and quick. Okay, I already said that in the title, but, really, it’s awesome. It took me probably about 25 minutes last night (although, I already had the rice prepared, so I just had to warm it up). So what is it? Brown rice, sauteed spinach and mushroom and a broiled flounder file.

Method:

Flounder file: I used flounder, but really, you can use any fish here. My boyfriend made this with salmon last week. Marinade the fish in a mixture of white wine (about half a cup), lemon juice (about half a lemon), a pinch of marjoram, oregano, parsley, rosemary, salt and pepper. Let sit for about 10 minutes. Line a baking sheet with foil and transfer the fish and marinade there. Top with some smoked paprika (regular is fine too,  but smoked is soooo much better!). Stick it into the preheated oven (350F) for about 15 minutes.

Spinach and mushrooms: I cut about 4 mushrooms and used the whole bunch of spinach and 2 small gloves of garlic, plus a pinch of salt and pepper. While the fish is in the oven, saute the mushrooms for a few minutes first. Add garlic. Saute for a couple more minutes. Add spinach, salt and pepper. Saute until the spinach withers.

Rice: I made this with brown rice – I just like it much more than white. Just cook the rice according to the instructions on the packaging and you are all set. I am thinking that lentils would be quite alright for this as well.

This dinner is fantastic, but I really cannot take all the credit, as my boyfriend is the one who came up with it off the top of his head.

Leave a Reply

