Buckwheat breakfast

20 Dec

I got pretty sick the other day with a nasty cold that’s been keeping me pretty much bed-ridden for a few days now. Since my body became pretty weak, my digestive system did as well. My usual breakfast would be either oatmeal or eggs, but since I got sick, I just couldn’t stomach them anymore (eggs especially, and I think I just got tired of oatmeal). Yesterday I remembered that in my childhood, my great grand mother used to make me buckwheat with some sugar and milk and that I used to actually like it. It wasn’t my most favorite thing in the world, but it was definitely not bad. So yesterday, for the first time in probably over 20 years I made it again, and I have to say, it is really pretty good! I know it may sound weird to make buckwheat sweet, but I swear, it is a great alternative for oatmeal, and especially for cereal (forget that processed, sugar-covered junk). You could even make it with honey instead of sugar (I just ran out of my honey, so sugar was all I had) to make it even healthier. Oh, and you can eat it hot or cold! This is what I did:

1. Prepare buckwheat according to packaging instructions (with water).

2. Once ready, serve with a little milk and sugar/honey to taste.

That’s it! Store the rest of your buckwheat in a container for the next morning!

Leave a Reply

