Grilled Green Tomato and Shiitake Sandwich

11 Aug

Food Less Traveled

This sandwich was invented out of necessity, but turned out a winner! I am very picky about the source of my meat.  I only eat locally sourced meat that is free range and grass fed, and I want to know exactly which farm it comes from.  If I can’t find meat that meets my qualifications I choose to eat vegetarian. At a recent family gathering a shaky cell phone connection lead to an absence of vegetarian grilling options and only conventional beef patties; I was forced to improvise. Luckily I had been to the farmer’s market that morning and purchased some beautiful green tomatoes and fairly large shiitake mushrooms which we drizzled with oil and vinegar, sprinkled with salt, and threw on the grill. The tomatoes and mushrooms were excellent on their own, but I threw a them on a couple slices of cherry walnut sourdough bread and added cheese…

View original post 283 more words

One Response to “Grilled Green Tomato and Shiitake Sandwich”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grilled Chicken and Shiitake Sammich | simplequickrecipes - January 29, 2014

    […] recipe is inspired by Grilled Green Tomato and Shiitake Sandwich, except I wanted to make a non-vegetarian version of it and it came out delicious! The following […]

Leave a Reply

