Double Fried Plantains

11 Aug

I have always been a fan of plantains, but up until few years ago, I had not a clue how to make them. This is the first plantain recipe I have learned. I also just checked out double fried plantains recipes online and it looks like people tend to use a lot more oil than I do. Also, I like my plantains a bit sweeter, so I pick the more yellow ones – but this is really a matter of taste. If you want more of a “potato-y” taste, get the green, hard ones.


ImageIngredients

Plantains

Salt, pepper to taste

3-4 tablespoons oil

Method

Peel and cut the plantains about 1 inch thick. Poor 1-2 tablespoons of oil in a pan, set fire to medium-high. Fry the plantains for a few minutes until golden. Take out and squish the pieces until they are about half the thickness. Add remaining oil to the pan and fry again until the plantains are golden/brown. When ready, take out from the oil and season liberally. Serve hot or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

