How to Make Hmeli-Suneli by Yourself

3 Apr

The last time I spoke to my dad, he sent me a recipe for Chahohbili (a traditional Georgian poultry dish – I will put a link to it later). I loved the recipe, the only problem was how to obtain this special spice mix called Hmeli-Suneli. After a short search, I figured that I would just make the mixture myself. Some spices are relatively difficult to obtain, so there is also a shortened version for it.

1. 1 tsp fenugreek
2. 1 tsp savory or summer savory
3. 1 tsp coriander
4.  1 tsp bay leaf
5. 1 tspdill weed
6. 1 tsp basil
7. 1 tsp mint
8. 1 tsp celery seed
9. 1 tsp marjoram
10. 1 tsp parsley
11. 2% ground red chili pepper (it was kind of difficult to see what would make 2%, so I just threw in a pinch and adjusted the chili pepper later to taste)
12. 1% saffron (saffron is very rare and very expensive… it is also quite strong, so I just made sure it wasn’t overwhelming when I added it to the mixture. I added about half the amount of red chili pepper).

Here’s also a shortened version:

1. 1 tsp coriander
2. 1 tsp basil
3. 1 tsp marjoram
4. 1 tsp yкpоп dill weed
5. 2% red chili pepper
6. 1% шафpан saffron

Whatever version you decide to go with, just mix all the spices thoroughly and store in a container.

I translated the recipe from here:

Как Сделать Хмели-Сунели Сами

You can also purchase the mixture here: Hmeli Suneli

One Response to “How to Make Hmeli-Suneli by Yourself”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Chahohbili | simplequickrecipes - April 26, 2013

    […] 1tsp Hmeli Suneli (see how to make it here) […]

Leave a Reply

