Delicious Apple Pie

5 Nov

I’ve always wanted to try and bake a pie, yet never really got a chance to until a few days ago. This pie came out DELICIOUS!

For crust, ingredients

(original recipe is here )

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling

1 cup (2 sticks or 8 ounces) unsalted butter, very-cold, cut into 1/2 inch cubes (I actually used I can’t believe it’s not butter sticks and the crust came out just fine for my taste)

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon sugar

6 to 8 tbsp ice water (I noticed that if you do use I can’t believe it’s not butter, you need a lot less water for this. I only used about 3 tbsp of water)

Directions

1. Combine flour, salt, and sugar in a food processor; pulse to mix. Add butter and pulse 6 to 8 times, until mixture resembles coarse meal, with pea sized pieces of butter. Add ice water 1 tbsp at a time, pulsing until mixture just begins to clump together, add a little more water and pulse again. Note that too much water will make the crust tough.

The top part is from the original recipe. I didn’t use a food processor, instead just mixed everything using a spoon. Builds up muscle, ya know.

2. Remove dough from machine and place in a mound on clean surface. If you want an extra flaky crust, shmoosh the dough mixture into the table top with heel of your palm a few times. Gently shape the dough mixture into two disks. You should be able to see little chunks of butter in the dough. Sprinkle little flour around the disks. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour, and up to 2 days.

The top part is again from the original recipe. Again, I did almost everything my own way. Since I didn’t use real butter for the crust, I didn’t see any butter chunks in my dough, but it came out just fine anyway. I also chilled the dough only for about 20 minutes… not even.

3. Remove one crust disk from the refrigerator. Roll out with a rolling pin on  a lightly floured surface to a 12-inch circle, about 1/8 of an inch thick. Carefully place onto a 9-inch pie plate. Gently place the pie dough down so that it lines the bottom and sides of the plate. Use a pair of kitchen scissors to trim the dough to within 1/2 inch of the edge of the pie crust.

Note: My dough ended up being a bit too sticky ( I think it is probably due to “I can’t believe it’s not butter”), so instead of rolling it out, I smooshed it flat enough with my hands and placed it directly into to the pie plate and smooshed it a little more to fit the plate and to make sure it is not too thick.

4. Add filling to the pie.

5. Roll out the second disk of the dough, as before. Gently place onto the top of the filling in the pie. Pinch top and bottom of dough rounds firmly together. Trim excess dough. Score the top of the pie with four 2-inch long cuts, so that the steam from the cooking pie can escape.

Note: I didn’t have enough dough to cover the whole top, so I cut up the rest of the dough in strips and arranged them in a “grid” manner. I actually like it this way a lot more.

For apples, Ingredients

(original recipe is here )

6 cups thinly sliced apples

3/4 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

juice from 1/2 lemon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. Prepare your pastry for a two crust pie. Wipe, quarter, core, peel, and slice apples; measure to 6 cups.

2. Combine sugar and cinnamon. The amount of sugar used depends on how tart your apples are.

3. Arrange apples in layers in pastry lined pie plate. Sprinkle each layer with sugar and cinnamon. Note: this is optional, but I also sprinkled some flour between some apple layers to help absorb the juice.

4. Mix the lemon juice with vanilla extract and poor on top of arranged apples (I made this step up, since I wasn’t sure how else to do it)

5. Cover with top crust.

6. Place on lowest rack in oven preheated to 450 degrees F. Bake for 10 minutes, then reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes longer. Server warm or cold.

Leave a Reply

